My first pilot season.

PILOT SEASON! It runs from about, well, now until April-ish. Actors love pilot season. They thrive on the possibility that they’ll book a pilot and become rich and famous and have awesome lives with 10-car garages and bottle service everywhere ever.

I can't hear you over my piles of money.

Me, as a lowly talent agency assistant, I’m scared. I’m scared of the insane tsunami of work and phone calls and 10- to 12-hour workdays cresting over me. A co-worker tells me about the time my predecessor was working until 9:30 at night. My agent tells me she worked on EIGHTY-FIVE PILOTS last year. You say “pilot season,” I hear “apocalypse season.” Sort of a po-tay-to/po-tah-to situation going on here.

To boil it down to basic terms: we are trying to get our clients cast in new shows. It’s just really, really hard to do. Here’s a slice of pilot season reality from Ken Levine, an Emmy-winning writer/director/producer.

Anyway… luckily, I have an awesome team in place. I work with two agents and one other assistant and we have a magical time together. When a client books a job, we all gather around the phone, put it on speaker, and yell, “You booked it! YAYYYYYYY!” while clapping and cheering. It is weird how perfectly matched the four of us are.

So, pilot season. Let’s see what happens…

This entry was posted in creepers, I'm a businessperson, jobs, living in L.A., pilot season, too much television for you. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first pilot season.

  1. haha when you said that you all gather around the phone and congratulate the client it reminded me of the birthday cheer at TGI Fridays

    I can’t wait to see you soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

