Oh, Steve Jobs.

So I was at work (most of my stories start this way. I’m at work a lot) and in between submitting kids for roles and sending out auditions, I clicked on over to Deadline Hollywood, which is where we Hollywood folk get our industry news.

The top headline: Steve Jobs had died. It’s only been a few hours since the world found out and I know it’s already old news, but it stunned and saddened me. I’m just a casual Apple user: I have a MacBook Pro and a craptastic iPod which is slowly pixelating its way to unreadability, but I respect the turtlenecked innovative genius of Jobs.

Our family’s first computer circa 1989 was an Apple IIGS. Oh, yes. The tutorial that showed you how a “mouse” worked and what a “cursor” was. Floppy disks with games on them. The tiny hard disks you graduated to once you were old enough to write papers and needed somewhere to save them. Computer paper that was perforated and connected (none of this “single paper” technology) and perfect for making awesome banners, gathered you knew a great number of people who either needed welcoming home or birthday wishes.

JOYSTICKS.

Thanks, Steve Jobs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, Steve Jobs.

  1. Michelle Jones says:

    I remember the days of the black screen/green text computers, floppy disks, ribbon printers with perforated paper. And I was known to make a banner or two…or 20. Complete with text and graphics. Oh memories.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Even back then – elementary school, the design was always done on the macs. and the PCs were used to Oregon Trail and other educational pursuits. How things haven’t changed.

Leave a Reply

