Hollywood’s Garden of Oz

Come on in

Honestly, you couldn’t keep me from exploring a new city if you tried. That’s the way it’s always been on my world travels, and that’s the continuing trend here in my new home. My latest find? The Garden of Oz, hidden in the hills in the old Hollywoodland neighborhood development.

Yellow Brick Road

Are you in fairytale mode yet? As the story goes, in the ’90s, the woman who owns this house enlisted the help of many artists and friends to create this magical place chock-a-block with tile and glass mosaics. The gate is locked (these photos were taken through the gate)(though you’re not supposed to)(sorry), but the woman sent out keys to the neighborhood children so they could come and go as they pleased.

The Dalai Lama also sent 15 of his monks to bless the garden.

The Wall of Toys

Pretty amazing.

This entry was posted in living in L.A.. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hollywood’s Garden of Oz

  1. Sarah N says:

    WHOA! I love that she sent the keys to neighborhood kids to come and play. Great pics, Steph!!! Your adventurous spirit in new places is so great. I want to go on an adventure with you sometime!

  2. Megan Tyson says:

    You’re such a wild rebel, Steph! Taking photos of no photo zones!
    But I’m glad you did so we could get a sneak peak of Oz. Very cool!

  3. Anna Wood says:

    Thats in MY NEIGHBORHOOD! I can walk there…

  4. Pingback: secret garden and birds | LOCAL TRAVELING

  5. Anonymous says:

    I have been here many times as a child and it’s very beautiful. There’s different themes for each section and at the top there’s a huge beautiful dream catcher. I have a key, so I want to go back again soon, but I heard they changed the lock. Does anyone know if this is true?

  6. Serena says:

    I have been here many times as a child and it’s very beautiful. There’s different themes for each section and at the top there’s a huge beautiful dream catcher. I have a key, so I want to go back again soon, but I heard they changed the lock. Does anyone know if this is true?

  7. Peter S says:

    Ah, I see you included the shot that asks for no photos. Why did you ignore it?

Leave a Reply

