Oh, hello, Colin Firth

Film critic Leonard Maltin, director Tom Hooper, actors Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. Yes.

I’m just going to throw it out there: I sat nine rows away from Colin Firth on Friday. HI. I’m having a love-hate relationship with L.A. (it’s only been five months), but it’s moments like this that make me looooove living in L.A.

AFI Fest (sponsored by the American Film Institute) is happening right now! For about two weeks, there are screenings all over Hollywood and the tickets are FREE! I work in North Hollywood, not too far away, and decided to try my luck getting into THE KING’S SPEECH at Grauman’s Chinese Theater.

Very elegant!

I waited in the rush line for about an hour and was practically jumping up and down as they ushered us inside. The theater was plush, the reds and golds shimmering in the low lights. The screen was two stories high.

Then they told us film critic Leonard Maltin, director Tom Hooper, and actors Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush were coming out for a Q & A session.

Yes, we get it. It is super cool to live here. L.A. knows how to put on a show.

So let’s recap: I leave work at 6. By 7:30 I sit in a world-famous theater, nine rows away from a couple film geniuses, and then I get to watch an amazing movie. For free.

Okay, L.A. Sometimes you are cool.

This entry was posted in celebrities, cheap cool stuff, living in L.A., movie premieres, movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, hello, Colin Firth

  1. Bethany says:

    I CAHN”T believe you were just rows away from Colin Firth! I do adore him, especially after Love Actually. Oh, Colin. Oh, the benefits of living in LA!!!

Leave a Reply

