Sorry.

I have mad Paint skillz

Sooooo. It’s been so long since my last post, you’re probably wondering if I’m still alive.  I am! (Just barely.)

See, I just had a suuuuuuper-rough two weeks and didn’t want to bum anyone out with my sad-sack posts. In fact, my better judgment told me not to post this:

Ummmmm

That is a true-life screenshot right there, my friends. But then my pal Meri told me yesterday that my unfortunate two weeks would have made a good story anyhow, so now that I’m crying less in public places, I’ll give you a quick rundown on what exactly happened. (I’ve repressed a lot of it, so you’ll have to wait for the made-for-TV movie to get the full scoop.)

Another car scraped against my car. I have huge white scratches against the passenger side door. This, of course, happened two months after I made my final car payment.

I can only take one 15-minute break in five hours at work. Someone has to man the front desk at all times. Do you know how HARD it is to hold your bladder for three hours, waiting for the break, when you just had a caramel macchiato from Starbucks? I don’t wish this on anyone.

I can’t mingle with anyone at work, so I hardly know anyone. See the desk comment above. Yesterday they had a happy hour downstairs and I couldn’t go like everyone else. This would have been a great way to meet people.

My landlord threatened to evict me. His bank made a mistake and returned my perfectly good check. He slipped an eviction notice under my door and said I had three days to pay up before he’d put me on the streets. He is NOT a nice person overall – extremely businesslike, doesn’t really like people in general, etc. He also hung up on me another time after I told him our refrigerator stopped working because “there’s nothing I can do about it tonight.” Click.

I ended up crying at my bank. Okay, so we’re back to crying in public again. This has taken some getting used to since I’m not really a crier.  I went to my bank to try and figure out this whole eviction thing to see if they knew what happened and when the teller at first told me that they couldn’t solve the problem, tears started welling up in my eyes (keep in mind, this was after a lot of the stuff happened that I just mentioned, so I was feeling a little emotionally fragile, OKAY?!).

I started CRYING at the BANK, people!

Of course, crying gets you everywhere, apparently, and the girl behind the desk ended up getting the vice president of the bank to write me a note because I told her my landlord wouldn’t believe it wasn’t my fault BECAUSE HE HATES ME.

We have an ant problem at my apartment. And it is disgusting.

I just like how obvious the description is.

The LCD screen on my expensive camera broke. *Sob* I loved that camera! Anyways, now I have to send it away because at least it’s under warranty. Hopefully they’ll accept my eBay receipt?

I still only have a part-time job. I am past the freaking-out point and more to the desolate point. It’s so expensive here and I really need more funds. I don’t understand why it’s so hard to get a full-time job in the entertainment industry. Can we get some health benefits up in here?

Really, the only resolution to any of the problems listed above is that I wasn’t evicted after all, which is a huge relief.

The end? I’m hoping my troubles will be over soon. Good things happening: I got a housesitting job, I’m going to San Diego today because my mom’s in town, and I hear fall is when the industry picks up again.

Poll: Want me to post even when things aren’t going so hot? Or would you rather I keep it to myself and in woeful draft form on my WordPress dashboard?

This entry was posted in crying in public places, eviction?!?!, friend-making, i'd like a job please, living in L.A., money, my carrrrrrr!, scrooge-like landlords, Starbucks is awesome, temp hell. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sorry.

  1. Rose says:

    Let it out girl, it’s good to vent to sympathetic ears. I once cried at the check out window of my old doctors office because they suck at accounting, so I understand the embarrassment. Maybe this is one of those “it gets worse before it gets better” times for you. Next thing you know, something phenomenal will happen!

  2. grace says:

    i say let it out. maybe we will have suggestions on how to help? or how to set up a website to accept donations to your rent fund. as for the ants i recommend taking some cocoa powder, sugar and about a cup of borax and put it in little bowls around your apt. you will soon find trails of dead ants coming from them. if that doesn’t work try putting dish soap in the cracks they come from. they won’t cross dish soap or once i heard that they won’t cross a chalk line! try it, let me know if it works… hugs! hang in there!

  3. Meri says:

    Or you can get some Raid, and do like I do and sing “Dance, Ants, Dance” while spraying down a line of em. On second thought, that’s cruel and unnecessary…. but oh so fun 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    I say you’ve got to write when you’re down too. It’s a good way to let the feelings out PLUS if you’re documenting your life on your blog, it’s all part of your life. Good and bad! We had some ants and a few *gasp* roaches when we moved in and Raid took good care of them. I should have tried the dance like Meri suggested though! That would have been more fun.
    Any hey, if you were to get evicted… there’s a nice bedroom here in NYC for you! :o) Love you, Steph!

  5. Susan says:

    Ah, Stef! I’m sorry you’ve had such a rough two weeks … I’ve definitely done the crying at the bank thing though. NOT. FUN.

    I agree with other comments, you need to let it out and put it on your blog. It’s good to hear what’s going on, whether good or bad, and you never know when someone might be able to help with some of your problems … or at least send you a few words of encouragement!

    As for the skipping the blog for two weeks … I’m SO there with you! I have about 50 different posts ready in my mind, but I have NO time to write them. It’s really bumming me out. 😦

  6. Ava says:

    Hey Steph,
    I just wanted to comment that when I moved to Texas I used to cry in public (and at home) places too. I think it has something to do with being so far away from home and you have no one to bitch to in person/ you wondering why no one at the bank, apt. complex, people that work in the Target check out line, ect….do not care that you are a million miles away from everyone you love. SO anyways, my point was I stoped crying in public places less and less then just all together! 🙂 So there are happy days ahead for you i know it!!

  7. Ava says:

    PS: I used to cry at my bank pretty much every week because my first boss sucked and her checks always bounced. hahaha so trust me I think they get it a lot!

Leave a Reply

