The Yes Experiment

This was a Google image search result for "yes." Just roll with it.

I’m ashamed to say that a Jim Carrey movie inspired my latest idea, the Yes Experiment. This movie, Yes Man, was based on an autobiographical book by Danny Wallace, who spent a year answering “yes” to any question or proposal and recording the results.

Have you ever moved to a completely new city? Your own neighborhood is unfamiliar to you, you don’t really know who’s next door, you have to create a whole new friend base, and you’re not really sure what there is to do on a random Thursday night.

I’m a month and a half in and I’m feeling like I need way more adventure on this crazy ride.

So from now on, I’m going to be saying “yes” to nearly everything (uh, within reason) and will be having a FAR more interesting life ASAP.

YES!

This entry was posted in "i just moved here" is a great excuse for everything, asparagus, is this such a great idea?, yes experiment. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Yes Experiment

  1. Jeff Grandon says:

    I think the Pet Shop Boys heard of this guy — they tell a story about a journalist who only answered “yes” and got halfway around the world. So they named their latest album “Yes.”

    Now are you ready to listen to PSB? (I’m awaiting a positive answer here.)

  2. Chris Desrocher says:

    Can we put wagers on how long you last? I don’t think I could last more than half a day, and only if I started around 10:30 pm.

  3. I already completed a “yes” task tonight (TBA in a future post)… I just have to keep remembering the right answer whenever anyone asks me anything.

    Do you have a challenge for me? 🙂

  4. Susan says:

    Steph, I love this idea! I think every once in awhile you should post about something you said “YES” to … I’d love to hear how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

