The One Where I Get to See the South Before I Leave


I live below the Mason-Dixon Line, so technically I’ve been a Southerner all my life, but come on! I live a short Metro ride away from D.C., where we definitely do not have accents. In fact, I thought grits were some sort of sausage until I went away to school in the middle of the state and found out that grits are, in fact, more like some sort of Cream of Wheat.

I got to go south last week. True south – Charleston, South Carolina south.

It was one last hurrah with my family before I head out to California. Everyone has been real weepy lately (okay, including me), so we thought it was a good idea to do some family bonding togetherness stuff.

Things I saw: plantations, Spanish moss, farmers’ markets, horses and carriages, dead magnolias, Fort Sumter. Things I did not see: grits.

This entry was posted in roadtrips with my family, South Carolina, Spanish moss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Where I Get to See the South Before I Leave

  1. Bruce says:

    Where’s my ID card? 🙂

Leave a Reply

